Penalty Decision A Joke - Carsley

Last updated : 13 November 2009 By Brian Cartlidge

Blues had led the Reds 2-1 when the match official deemed that Carsley had brought down N'gog in the penalty area, although tv replays of the incident clearly show that this was not the case and that the theatricals of the French forward had persuaded the referee into thinking that contact had been made.

"I'm sure he's got a family but if I went home having done something like that, I'd be embarrassed," Carsley told ESPN after the 2-2 draw.

"I was absolutely nowhere near him. It's a joke. I knew I didn't touch him.

"I asked the referee to book me or send me off because it would have made me feel better.